Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

A Consultation on Water: River Yamuna – Mon, May 30

May 30 at 8:00 am to 9:30 am

A Consultation on Water:  River Yamuna
Monday, May 30, 2022
5 a.m. San Francisco | 8 a.m. New York | 2 p.m. Paris | 5:30 p.m. New Delhi

The river Yamuna is one of India’s most sacred rivers. Closely connected to the stories of the Hindu deity Krishna, the Yamuna is venerated and worshiped by Hindus worldwide. Despite this, the river is considered to be “dead”, so heavily polluted that no life can exist within it. After leaving the Himalayas it reaches Delhi, where the water is diverted and replaced with untreated sewage water. It is this water, which contains dangerously high levels of toxic chemicals that Hindu devotees use for worship and rituals. Despite several high profile campaigns over recent years, the plight of the Yamuna is no closer to being resolved.

On Monday, May 30, 2022, at 8 a.m. Eastern Time, the Center for Earth Ethics will host “A Consultation on Water: River Yamuna.” This exploration of climate and pollution issues around one of India’s greatest rivers will be moderated by Gopal Patel, senior advisor at the Center for Earth Ethics.

This is the second consultation in the UN Decade on Ecosystem Restoration series, Values, Culture and Spirituality. #GenerationRestoration

Register

 

Details

Date:
May 30
Time:
8:00 am to 9:30 am
Website:
https://www.decadeonrestoration.org/events

Organizer

Center for Earth Ethics
Email:
info@centerforearthethics.org
Website:
https://centerforearthethics.org

Venue

Online Event